常见不孕不育问题答疑
不孕不育简介
  • 不孕不育并非是一种不便;而是生殖系统疾病,会损伤人体最基本的生殖能力。
  • 不孕不育给约10%的育龄者造成了影响(来源:美国家庭成长调查,疾病控制与预防中心,1995年)
  • 不孕不育给男性和女性造成的影响相同。
  • 85%至90%的不孕不育症都是通过药物或手术等传统医学方式治疗。
  • 试管授精及其他相似治疗方式虽然对部分患者效果显著,却仅占整体不孕不育治疗的少于3%。
  1. 什么是不孕不育?

    不孕不育是生殖系统疾病,会损伤人体最基本的功能——生育。生育是一个复杂的过程,受诸多因素影响:男性需产生健康精子,女性需产生健康卵子;未受阻的输卵管确保精子进入卵子;精子在进入卵子后能成功生成受精卵;受精卵(胚胎)能够进入女性子宫;还要有质量理想的胚胎。

    此外,在整个妊娠期,胚胎都必须保持健康状态,女性应制造合适的荷尔蒙环境,能够确保胚胎的生长。上述条件缺一不可,否则将会导致不孕不育。
  2. 有哪些导致不孕不育的因素?

    就如糖尿病和白血病一样,不孕不育不能够责怪任何人。一般情况下,约三分之一的不孕不育都是男性出现问题,约三分之一是女性问题。剩下三分之一是双方共同的问题,其中20%原因不明。

    最常见的男性问题包括精子缺乏活力(无法产生精子细胞)和精液缺乏(几乎无法产生精子细胞)。有时,精子细胞在到达卵子前便畸形或死亡。在少数情况下,男性不孕不育是由囊胞性纤维症或染色体异常等遗传病造成。

    最常见的女性问题是排卵异常。其他问题还有输卵管受阻,女性若患有盆腔炎或子宫内膜异位(有时感到疼痛,会造成粘连和囊泡)会出现此问题。多次流产会造成子宫结构等先天异常和子宫肌瘤。
  3. 如何诊断不孕不育?

    若在未采取保护措施进行性行为一年后仍未怀孕,则建议前往医院咨询。若女性超过40岁,则在未采取保护措施进行性行为半年后,仍未怀孕时前往医院咨询。医生将根据夫妻双方的体检结果判断健康状况并评估可能导致不孕不育的身体异常原因。通常会询问双方的性生活习惯,判断性行为是否正常,有利于受孕。

    若未检测出任何问题,医生将会推荐其它检查。女性检查包括生殖激素水平和卵巢分析、输卵管和子宫X光还有腹腔镜检查。男性检查主要是精子分析。
  4. 如何治疗不孕不育?

    85%至90%的不孕不育都是通过药物治疗或生殖器官修复手术等传统医学方式治疗。
  5. 什么是试管授精?

    若女方输卵管受阻或缺失,或男方精子数量过少,在过去原本是无望拥有“有血缘关系”的子女,现在可以通过试管授精实现梦想。

    在试管授精手术中,将卵子从卵巢中移出,与精子在女性体外的培养皿(“in vitro”在拉丁语中的意思是“在玻璃中”)中融合。约40小时后,检查卵子是否已受精并分裂细胞。之后将受精卵(胚胎)置于女性子宫中,无需通过输卵管。

    试管授精自1978年问世以来受到了媒体的广泛关注,但实际上仅占整体不孕不育治疗不到5%。
  6. 试管授精是否有效?

    的确有效。试管授精于1983年引入新加坡,目前占全部ART手术的约99%。2000年,试管授精的每次取卵的平均活胎分娩率为29.9%,略微高于生殖健康夫妇在任意月份20%的受孕分娩率。

    渴望孕育子女成为父母是人类最基本的原始本能。人们不应该因为得不到合适的医疗疗程而被剥夺了实现这一梦想的权力。

infertility FAQs

Quick Facts About Infertility

  • Infertility is NOT an inconvenience; it is a disease of the reproductive system that impairs the body's ability to perform the basic function of reproduction.
  • Infertility affects about ten percent of the reproductive-age population (Source: National Survey of Family Growth, CDC 1995).
  • Infertility affects men and women equally.
  • Most infertility cases, 85% to 90%, are treated with conventional medical therapies such as medication or surgery.
  • While vital for some patients, in vitro fertilization and similar treatments account for less than 3% of infertility services.
  1. What is Infertility?

    Infertility is a disease of the reproductive system that impairs one of the body's most basic functions: the conception of children. Conception is a complicated process that depends upon many factors: on the production of healthy sperm by the man and healthy eggs by the woman; unblocked fallopian tubes that allow the sperm to reach the egg; the sperm's ability to fertilize the egg when they meet; the ability of the fertilized egg (embryo) to become implanted in the woman's uterus; and sufficient embryo quality.

    Finally, for the pregnancy to continue to full term, the embryo must be healthy and the woman's hormonal environment adequate for its development. When just one of these factors is impaired, infertility can result.
  2. What Causes Infertility?

    No one can be blamed for infertility any more than anyone is to blame for diabetes or leukemia. In rough terms, about one-third of infertility cases can be attributed to male factors, and about one-third to factors that affect women. For the remaining one-third of infertile couples, infertility is caused by a combination of problems in both partners or, in about 20 percent of cases, is unexplained.

    The most common male infertility factors include azoospermia (no sperm cells are produced) and oligospermia (few sperm cells are produced). Sometimes, sperm cells are malformed or they die before they can reach the egg. In rare cases, infertility in men is caused by a genetic disease such as cystic fibrosis or a chromosomal abnormality.

    The most common female infertility factor is an ovulation disorder. Other causes of female infertility include blocked fallopian tubes, which can occur when a woman has had pelvic inflammatory disease or endometriosis (a sometimes painful condition causing adhesions and cysts). Congenital anomalies (birth defects) involving the structure of the uterus and uterine fibroids are associated with repeated miscarriages.
  3. How is Infertility Diagnosed?

    Couples are generally advised to seek medical help if they are unable to achieve pregnancy after a year of unprotected intercourse. Women above the age of 40yrs should seek help after 6 months of unprotected intercourse if they are unable to get pregnant. The doctor will conduct a physical examination of both partners to determine their general state of health and to evaluate physical disorders that may be causing infertility. Usually both partners are interviewed about their sexual habits in order to determine whether intercourse is taking place properly for conception.

    If no cause can be determined at this point, more specific tests may be recommended. For women, these include an analysis of reproductive hormones levels and ovulation, x-ray of the fallopian tubes and uterus, and laparoscopy. For men, initial tests focus on semen analysis.
  4. How is Infertility Treated?

    Most infertility cases -- 85 to 90 percent -- are treated with conventional therapies, such as drug treatment or surgical repair of reproductive organs.
  5. What is In Vitro Fertilization?

    In infertile couples where women have blocked or absent fallopian tubes, or where men have low sperm counts, in vitro fertilization (IVF) offers a chance at parenthood to couples who until recently would have had no hope of having a "biologically related" child.

    In IVF, eggs are surgically removed from the ovary and mixed with sperm outside the body in a Petri dish ("in vitro" is Latin for "in glass"). After about 40 hours, the eggs are examined to see if they have become fertilized by the sperm and are dividing into cells. These fertilized eggs (embryos) are then placed in the women's uterus, thus bypassing the fallopian tubes.

    IVF has received a great deal of media attention since it was first introduced in 1978, but it actually accounts for less than five percent of all infertility treatment in general.
  6. Does In Vitro Fertilization Work?

    Yes. IVF was introduced in Singapore in 1983. IVF currently accounts for about 99% of ART procedures. The average live delivery rate for IVF in 2000 was 29.9 per cent per retrieval--a little better than the 20 per cent chance in any given month that a reproductively healthy couple has of achieving a pregnancy and carrying it to term.

    The desire to have children and be parents is one of the most fundamental aspects of being human. People should not be denied medically appropriate treatment to fulfill this goal.